Monday, January 26, 2015

THE SERIES SERIES Guest Post: Bridget from Dog-Eared & Dog-Tagged

Welcome to the first of this week's guest posts on The Series Series!  All week this week I'll be hosting guest posts from around the blogosphere, wherein five lovely book bloggers will share their love for a beloved book series by answering ten questions about it.  

Today's post is brought to you by Bridget from Dog-Eared & Dog-Tagged and she'll be talking about The Magicians Series by Lev Grossman.  I can't tell you how delightful Bridget has been to work with - so kind and genuine.  Plus, her post has me reeeeeeeeeeally wanting to read The Magicians.  As a self proclaimed fantasy fan, I find it mildly embarrassing that I haven't read it yet.  (Anyone want to read it with me??)  Thanks for writing the post, Bridget!  And Definitely show Bridget some love by stopping by Dog-Eared & Dog-Tagged after reading her post!



The Magicians Series by Lev Grossman

Hi all! I’m Bridget from Dog-Eared & Dog-Tagged. I just finished Lev Grossman’s trilogy The Magicians and I looooved it. Here are my answers to Melissa’s questions:

1. Describe this series in five words: Teenager discovers Narnia is real.

2. Who should read this series? Fans of Harry Potter and The Chronicles of Narnia, or just, you know, everyone. Because it’s just that awesome. I’d recommend an age limit of 13 and up, though. And maybe a mature 13-year-old at that.

3. If this series were an animal what would it be? A griffin. I’m not even entirely sure what a griffin is, but I’m pretty sure The Magicians would be one.

4. Is there anything triggering in this series that readers should be aware of? There are some pretty intense battle scenes; not a whole lot of gore, but enough. There’s also a good amount of sex, particularly in the first book, and one particularly unsavory rape scene in the second. Young and sensitive readers, beware.

5. What food/drink did you crave after reading this series?  Strangely, coffee. I say strangely because I don’t drink coffee.

6. If you were to give this series to someone as a gift, what other item would you pair it with?  This adorable little sloth necklace.


They won’t get it until they read the second book, though.

7. What emotion did you feel the most while reading this book? Is suspense an emotion? I was always waiting for the other shoe to drop. And it always did.

8. After finishing this series, what should I read next? Had a little trouble with this one myself! Honestly, I had to take a little time off fantasy and go read a different genre, but that might just be me.

9. Summarize this series with a GIF

10. Give your final pitch of why people should read this series: If you’re someone who doesn’t really enjoy “high fantasy” (which I think of as Lord of the Rings, Game of Thrones, Eye of the World, etc.) but liked Harry Potter, which is most people (at least of my vintage), I think you should give this one a try. It’s darker, grittier, and scarier than Harry Potter, but that just made me love it even more. For me, it was sort of the next logical step: the last Harry Potter book came out when I was 17; now I’m 25. The Magicians has that same magical feel as Harry Potter, but it’s more grown up and there’s more at stake. It’s really hard to describe other than that. But please do give this series a try. I don’t think you’ll regret it.

You can read my reviews here:



Thanks for having me, Melissa! 

12 comments:

  1. YES! I'm a huge fan of this series. It's kind of polarizing within the Fantasy community. A lot of people don't like Quentin because he's not your typical hero but I like that. But what I like most is that it's very tongue-in-cheek. It takes Fantasy tropes and pokes fun at them a little bit. One of the major themes in particular I love is that magic doesn't actually solve problems, it creates more.

    It's a great series though and a definite read for adult Fantasy fans! Amazing pick. Now I have to go follow Bridget's blog because clearly she has great taste.
    Cassi @ My Thoughts Literally

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Cassi, your comments just make me want to read this series even more! I like the idea of a fantasy series poking fun at fantasy tropes. I'm definitely adding this to the top of my list! (And, you are correct: Bridget has impeccable taste.)

      Delete
    2. *blushes* you guys are great :D

      Delete
  2. Sounds like an interesting series. I'll definitely have to give it a go.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Glad you're interested too! Her comments certainly have me wanting to read this series.

      Delete
  3. I couldn't see the picture or gif :( I haven't read these, but I want to now!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The images should be corrected now! I'm not sure why they weren't working this morning. :(

      Delete
  4. =O I've seen these books before! I wasn't sure what they were about. I was going to read it anyway because fantasy literature is my fave. c: I'm really enjoying the Series Series!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks! Glad you're enjoying the series! Hope you like these books, I'm really excited to read them too. :)

      Delete
  5. Almost makes me want to finish this series. I read the first one but was only meh about it. Maybe the series as a whole is better.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I couldn't say since I haven't read them myself yet, but usually the first book in any given series is my favorite so if you weren't feeling the first book then maybe this series isn't for you? Do you typically like fantasy?

      Delete

Hi! Thanks for your comment! I am currently being hit by a large amount of spam, so I've upped my comment moderating settings for the time being. I will revert back to more comment friendly settings once the spammers go back to the gutters from whence they came.